Departments

Welcome to the Health Services Department

Our Department Information | 2014 Nursing Assignments

List Director of Nursing
  Contact
Phone
E-mail
Kathleen McNulty, RN, MSN,NCSN,AE-C
(781) 477-7202 ext.3342
mcnultyk@lynnschools.org
List Accounts Clerk
  Contact
Phone
E-mail
Kathleen Compton
(781) 477-7202 ext.3341
comptonk@lynnschools.org
List Aborn Elementary School
  Contact
Phone
E-mail
Theresa Arsenault, RN, BSN
(781) 477-7320
arsenaultt@lynnschools.org
List Breed Middle School
  Contact
Phone
E-mail
Elizabeth LeClerc, RN, MSN,
(781) 477-7219
leclerce@lynnschools.org
List Breed Middle School
  Contact
Phone
E-mail
Jennifer Spina, RN, BSN, NCSN
(781) 477-7219
spinaj@lynnschools.org
List Brickett Elementary School
  Contact
Phone
E-mail
Deb McManus,RN, BSN
(781) 477-7333
mcmanusd@lynnschools.org
List Callahan Elementary School
  Contact
Phone
E-mail
Theresa Breen, RN, AD, EMT-B
(781) 477-7338
breent@lynnschools.org
List Classical High School 10 - 11- 12
  Contact
Phone
E-mail
June Blake, RN, BSN
(781) 477-7196
blakej@lynnschools.org
List Classical High School 9
  Contact
Phone
E-mail
Rachael Bradley, RN, BSN
(781) 477-7196
bradleyr@lynnschools.org
List Cobbet Elementary School
  Contact
Phone
E-mail
Beth Murphy, RN, MSN
(781) 477-7341
murphyb@lynnschools.org
List Connery Elementary School
  Contact
Phone
E-mail
Pauline Coulon, RN, BSN, NCSN
(781) 477-7344
coulonp@lynnschools.org
List Cubbies Den
  Contact
Phone
E-mail
Jacqueline Murphy, RN, AD
(781) 581-7420
murphyjac@lynnschools.org
List Early Childhood Center-Commercial Street
  Contact
Phone
E-mail
Nancy Smith, RN, BSN
(781) 477-7220
smithn@lynnschools.org
List Early Childhood Center-Curwin Circle
  Contact
Phone
E-mail
Jennifer Swanson, RN, BSN
(339) 883-0328
swansonj@lynnschools.org
List District Float
  Contact
Phone
E-mail
Denise Ferrari, RN, MSN

ferrarid@lynnschools.org
  Contact
Phone
E-mail
Kerry Molloy, RN, BSN

molloyk@lynnschools.org
List Drewicz Elementary School
  Contact
Phone
E-mail
Mary Keefe, RN, MSN
(781) 477-7350
keefem@lynnschools.org
List English High School
  Contact
Phone
E-mail
Dorine Bransfield, RN
(781) 477-7368
bransfieldd@lynnschools.org
List English High School
  Contact
Phone
E-mail
Val Lozzi, RN, BSN, NCSN
(781) 477-7368
lozziv@lynnschools.org
List Fallon Elementary School
  Contact
Phone
E-mail
Christine Gilligan, RN, BSN
(781) 477-7470
gilliganc@lynnschools.org
List Fecteau-Leary Junior | Senior High School
  Contact
Phone
E-mail
Barbara Batchelder, RN, BSN
(781) 268-3007
batchelderb@lynnschools.org
List Ford Elementary School
  Contact
Phone
E-mail
Dottie Mah, RN, AD
(781) 477-7375
mahd@lynnschools.org
List Harrington Elementary School
  Contact
Phone
E-mail
Deb Capano, RN
(781) 477-7149
chipmanp@lynnschools.org
List Hood Elementary School
  Contact
Phone
E-mail
Michelle Thivierge, RN, BSN
(781) 7389 or 7390
thiviergem@lynnschools.org
List Ingalls Elementary School
  Contact
Phone
E-mail
Vicki Kennedy, RN, BSN
(781) 599-5570
kennedyv@lynnschools.org
List Ingalls | TEAMS
  Contact
Phone
E-mail
Patricia Hourihan, RN, BSN, MSN
(781) 77-7400
hourihanp@@lynnschools.org
List Ingalls | LPN | SPED
  Contact
Phone
E-mail
Doris Barrasso, LPN
(781) 77-7400
barrassod@lynnschools.org
List Lincoln-Thomson
  Contact
Phone
E-mail
Jennifer Swanson, RN, BSN
(781) 477-7460 | (339) 883-0328
swansonj@lynnschools.org
List Lynn Woods/Pickering Elementary Schools
  Contact
Phone
E-mail
Marietta Collins, RN, BSN, MBA
(781) 477-7433
collinsm@lynnschools.org
List LVTI High School
  Contact
Phone
E-mail
Jacqueline Murphy, RN, AD
(781) 581-7420
murphyjac@lynnschools.org
List LVTI Annex
  Contact
Phone
E-mail
Mary Smith, RN
(781) 477-7220
smithm@lynnschools.org
List Marshall Middle School
  Contact
Phone
E-mail
Renee Domegan, RN, BSN
(781) 477-0664
domeganr@lynnschools.org
List Marshall Middle School
  Contact
Phone
E-mail
Vonette Rich, RN, BSN
(781) 477-0664
richv@lynnschools.org
List Parent Information Center
  Contact
Phone
E-mail
Deborah Tanzer, RN, M. ED
(781) 7220 Ext 3207
tanzerd@lynnschools.org
List Pickering Middle School
  Contact
Phone
E-mail
Robin Erelli, RN, BSN
(781) 477-7438
erellir@lynnschools.org
List Sewell-Anderson Elementary School
  Contact
Phone
E-mail

Ann Liberge, RN, BSN
(781) 477-7444
libergea@lynnschools.org

List Shoemaker Elementary School
  Contact
Phone
E-mail
Mary Ann Frazier, RN
(781) 477-7450
frazierm@lynnschools.org
List Sisson Elementary School
  Contact
Phone
E-mail
Susan Bonavita, RN, BSN
(781) 477-7455
bonavitas@lynnschools.org
List Tracy Elementary School
  Contact
Phone
E-mail
Pat Chipman, RN, BSN, NCSN
(781) 477-7466
chipmanp@lynnschools.org
List Washington S.T.E.M School
  Contact
Phone
E-mail
Angie Reaney, RN, BSN
(339) 883-1414
reaneya@lynnschools.org
List Vision and Hearing | District
  Contact
Phone
E-mail
Kathy Olson
(781) 477-7201 X 102
olsonk@lynnschools.org
  Contact
Phone
E-mail
Joanne Connor
(781) 477-7201 X 102
connorj@lynnschools.org


The Flu: A Guide For Parents | 2013

2013 | 2014 The Flu: A Guide For Parents Is Available Online
Translate The Flu Season is upon us and unpredictable. Even during mild seasons influenza can cause illness and even death for thousands of people in the United States. It also causes a substantial amount of missed school among students, faculty, and staff. The single best way to prevent influenza is vaccination of everyone six months of age and older. This flu guide will help protect you and your family against this years flu.

Click here to read or download this important information for your family.

Flu information | What is the flu?
Influenza (the flu) is an infection of the nose, throat and lungs caused by influenza viruses that are constantly changing. Flu causes illness, hospital stays and deaths in the United States each year. Flu can be very dangerous for children. Each year about 20,000 children younger than 5 years old are hospitalized from flu complications, like pneumonia.

How serious is the flu? | Flu illness can vary from mild to severe. Flu can be especially dangerous for young children and children of any age who have certain long term health conditions, including asthma (even mild or controlled), neurological conditions, chronic lung disease, heart disease, blood disorders, endocrine disorders (such as diabetes), and weakened immune systems due to disease or medication. Children with these conditions, and those receiving long-term aspirin therapy, can have more severe illness from the flu.

How does the flu spread? | Most experts believe that flu viruses spread mainly by droplets made when people with the flu cough, sneeze or talk. These droplets can
land in the mouths or noses of people who are nearby. Less often, a person might get the flu by touching something that has flu virus on it and then touching their own mouth, eyes or nose.

What are the symptoms of flu? | Symptoms of flu can include fever, cough, sore
throat, runny or stuffy nose, body aches, headache, chills, fatigue and sometimes vomiting and diarrhea. Some people with flu will not have a fever.

How long can a sick person spread the flu? | People with the flu may infect others from 1 day before getting sick to 5-7 days after. Children and people with weakened immune systems can shed virus for longer, and might still be contagious past 7 days, especially if they still have symptoms.

Can my child go to school, daycare or camp if he or she is sick? | No. Your child should stay home to rest and to avoid giving the flu to other children or to caregivers.

When can my child go back to school after having the flu?
| Keep your child home until at least 24 hours after their fever is gone, without using feverreducing
medications, like acetaminophen (Tylenol) or ibuprofen (Motrin or Advil). A fever is defined as 100.4°F (38°C) or higher.

Protect your child | How can I protect my child against flu?
The first and most important thing to do is to get flu vaccine for your child, yourself, and everyone else in your household every year. Get the vaccine as soon as it is available.
• Vaccination is recommended for everyone 6 months and older.
• It’s especially important that young children and children with certain health conditions (see at left) get vaccinated.
• It’s very important for parents, grandparents, teachers and caregivers to get vaccinated.
• Everyone caring for infants under 6 months (who are too young to be vaccinated) should be vaccinated if possible. Vaccinating pregnant women can offer some protection to the baby during pregnancy and after birth

About flu vaccine | What kinds of flu vaccine are there?
There are two kinds of flu vaccine:
• Inactivated (killed) flu vaccine, the “flu shot,” is given by injection with a needle.
• Live, attenuated (weakened) flu vaccine is sprayed into the nostrils.

The kind of vaccine your child will get depends on their age and health. Your child may be eligible to receive either kind of flu vaccine. Every time your child receives vaccine, your healthcare provider will ask questions which will help determine whether the child should receive vaccine that day, and what kind of vaccine your child should get.

Are there any risks from flu vaccine? | Vaccine reactions, if they occur, are usually mild and can include soreness, redness and swelling where the shot is given, or runny nose after getting the nasal spray. Some people have experienced fever, body aches, headache and fatigue. These reactions usually begin soon after the vaccine is given, and last 1-2 days.

A vaccine, like any medicine, could possibly cause more serious problems, such as severe allergic reactions. The risk of a vaccine causing serious harm is extremely small. Life threatening allergic reactions from vaccines are very rare. If they do occur, it is usually within a few minutes to a few hours after the vaccination.

More detailed information about flu vaccine is available at www.immunize.org/vis. At this site you will find Vaccine Information Statements about inactivated and live influenza vaccines (the shot and the nasal spray) designed to educate and inform in many languages.

Is influenza vaccine effective? | Yes. While no vaccine is 100% effective, influenza vaccine is the best protection against getting the flu. Influenza vaccine tends to be most effective in people who are younger and healthy. It takes about two weeks after vaccination to protect against flu, so vaccination does not protect immediately. Also, flu viruses are always changing, so the vaccine needs to be updated every year, before flu season starts. When the vaccine isn’t a good match with flu viruses that are circulating, it offers less protection.

People who get flu vaccine are much less likely to get the flu than those who don’t get vaccine, and if vaccinated people get sick with the flu their illness is not as severe.

Other steps to take | What else can I do to protect my child?
Cover coughs and sneezes with a tissue. Throw the tissue in the trash after use.
• Stay away from people who are sick.
• Wash hands often with soap and water.
• Use an alcohol-based hand rub if soap and water are not available.
• Contact your healthcare provider if your child gets sick, especially if the child is very young (under 5) or has long-term health conditions.
• Seek emergency care if your child has trouble breathing, fast breathing, turns
bluish or gray, has severe or persistent vomiting, has trouble waking up, or doesn’t
interact normally.

Much more information is available at:
www.mass.gov/flu
www.cdc.gov/flu
www.immunize.org
• Or call 617-983-6800 or your local board of health.

PDFDOWNLOAD The 2013 The Flu: A Guide For Parents

Adated from CDC and developed as per legal requirements pursuant to An Act Relative to Annual Immunization Against Influenza for Children, MGL Chapter 111, Section 229, Amended 2012. Massachusetts Department of Public Health, 2013

Other Resources

This page is under construction...

Acrobat (PDF) Software
PDF

Free Adobe Acrobat Software is required to view our PDF files. You can download the free software using the link below.

 


Search | Lynn Public Schools Website
Loading
  Translate | Select A Language
| HOMEPAGE | CONTACT THE SCHOOL DEPARTMENT | WEBSITE MAP |
Copyright - All Rights Reserved 2014